Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was resting; inside a small opening,

In a cavern deep within, a calm sea,

My eyes opened to a certain rumbling,

Above, like that of a grumbling, from underneath,

It was big and was swimming, with help of blades spinning,

Like arms of jellyfish, upward going,

I wouldn’t call it angelic, it was apocalyptic,

Containing arms of devilry, and it was accompanied,

By a fleet of its siblings, snorkeling,

And a horde of its kin, hovering, above the pacific,

They all were up to something,

Fishy, no, for I didn’t see them fishing,

They were discussing, screaming,

Their voices traveling, and giant ripples forming,

They were preparing, they were testing,

Their monsters that were hanging,

Off their metal slings, wound up without strings,

Unusual looking things, I hadn’t imagined,

What they were going to bring, forth to us,

Would be beyond shocking,

 

 

Their voices were scaring, the whirlpool out of me,

I thought of hiding, and so I started towards the depths, fighting,

My way through a commotion of my fellow beings,

Until I could calm my heart’s beating, while also clearly seeing,

The catastrophe that was brewing, the laughs they were throwing,

At us were evil, we were medieval and they a race evolving,

But their pride turned into insanity, Oh, the curse of humanity,

A voice ordering, “Proceed!”

Slings dropping, their guard, arms falling, and speeding towards nothing,

And then they all started exploding, like a hiccup of a Halfling,

An uproar spiked and perished, all within a minute,

But this small trapping, left all things choking, life smoking,

Rocketing with fire blazing, O, a ferocious flaming,

The sea shivering, fishes cowering, the air groaning,

Bubbles of patience bursting, words of ethics moaning,

A mushroom rising, its breath fuming, and temper rising,

With hate that was consuming, and burning,

Everything around it that was living,

It was stealing away the time we were buying,

Victory chants of morality’s defeat bellowing,

 

 

Yes, it was prophetic, yes it was cataclysmic,

My soul was wrinkling, loosened by the slow giving,

Away of hope, it was weeping, I felt despair creeping,

Up my bones, as I was bowing, my head in asking,

Of a home, away from this collapsing,

Of love, faith was fading, stained memories not erasing,

All antidotes turning acidic, the very air in the water was poisoning,

And like they had opened, my eyes were now closing,

Along with my hearing that was lost in the noise deafening,

And with a last struggle of gasping, up air for the living,

I let go of myself, and rose towards the skies, swirling,

With the remnants of a plant that was flowering,

I was going up to the heavens with all the dying.

 

 

I never knew that Hydrogen

Could vaporize us into the air

Killin’ all life

I never knew that Oxygen

Could burn away

 From H2O like fire melting ice

I never knew that with wisdom as deep as the oceans,

Mankind would devise its own demise…………..

 

Rafi Syed (Mr.Green)

Image